Loose threads

Various sewing projects. Mostly historical (or historically inspired) stuff. Varying levels of ambition!

2023:4 Purple sleeves

Kategori: Allmänt, Historic Sew Montly 23, Renaissance, Stashbusting

For the longest time I thought I wouldn't manage a lot for Historic Sew Montly this year, but looking back it turns out I did  - I just fell behind terribly on the blog posts. I will add them in an order that sort of makes sense, rather than either following the challenges or necessarily the timeline of the projects.
 
First out is therefore the April challenge, Opposites attract. "...make something that uses two or more colours which you would not normally use together, or colours which "clash" to the modern eye."
 
As it turns out, this was also an opposite order project, making the sleeves before the outfit it was supposed to clash a bit with, but there you go.
 
 I went to a larp in July 2023 and originally had quite a few plans for dresses before it all started. In the end I was a) short of time (shocking, I know) and b) very inclined to go for a woolier nobility than fantasy often sports. My character was, after all, not a countess but a knight's widow, and while I had a bit of fancy fabric laying around, it made a lot of sense to go for a wool look and then (because short of time) make fancy stuff for Sunday bests later. Little did I know, you can never guess what happened next (unless you make it to the end of this post).
 
But: short of time it was, and one _stellar_ way to sort that out, especially for a larp, is to bring lots and lots of sleeves. With a couple of sets of sleeves and a few kirtles, combinations are almost endless. I also had the very clear ambition to not buy any more fabric than absolutely necessary this year, both since sewing is not the most sustainable hobby (the fabric industry is almost universally shitty) but to be honest mostly because I have a HUGE stash by now. This is another great reason for sleeves: they are a great use for that too-small-for-anything piece of leftover fabric.
 
The picture shows the top fabric laid out on the lining fabric, but the fit of the fabric vs the pattern pieces was nearly the same in the top fabric. It's deeply satisfying when it happens.
 
Short of time + stashbusting = not too picky. That means that the fabric is some sort of Thai silk with more slubs than I like, the lining is dyed lined (I know, I know, but I couldn't resist using that leftover piece and also I didn't want to waste good, period appropriate lining fabric on a less than that top fabric). 
 
The first use didn't fit the challenge: I used them with my dark brown/poor black gamurra which is not at all a clash, but I like the result (but oh, did I kick myself for not picking the black headwear after seeing the wonderful photos by Larpology:)
With a black headdress, however fantasy-like, would have upped the  Christine of Denmark vibes. Tiny details such as me and my character being about three times her age aside, obviously.
 
So what's the clash, I hear you ask? Well, I had fabric for a fancy kirtle in mind. It didn't happen before the summer larp, but at the summer larp my character accepted a proposal. From a count. So much for wooly nobility...
 
I sadly have no good pictures of the finished outfit, just some snapshots from before a larp, but I think this fits the challenge: I really like the yellow and purple combo, but that is something I'd never wear in real life/modern clothing. To be honest, I stay away from yellow, too, but I do love the brocade fabric. More about that kirtle later:
 
I mean, look at the grey and gold!! (The jerkin thing is pure fantasy, I know I know). 
 
The facts: 
 
The challenge: 2023:4, Opposites attract
 
What the item is: a set of purple sleeves
How it fits the challenge: matching purple with yellow/gold is a bit off to (my) modern eyes.
Material: Silk, linen
Pattern: from the Tudor tailor
Year: late 15th-early 16th century
Notions: Polyester thread (I made this on machine)
How historically accurate is it? Not very: a period pattern, and looks ok when worn with the right clothes, but the materials are a bit off. I say 50%.
Hours to complete: Ten or so, including finishing edges by hand and making holes for ties
First worn: May 2023
Total cost: Old stash, so hard to tell, but I guess no more than 5 euros as I used only leftovers from bigger projects where I would have had _some_ leftovers anyway.
 
And just because I love it, another closeup picture from Larpology:
 
 
 
 
Kommentera inlägget här: