Loose threads

Various sewing projects. Mostly historical (or historically inspired) stuff. Varying levels of ambition!

Challenge #21 - Re-do, part one

Kategori: , Allmänt

The theme this time was fairly straight-forward: "Pick any previous challenge and re-do it (or do it for the first time).  It could be one that you didn’t finish, one that you wish you’d had more time for, or any time for, or one where you loved the theme so much you want to do it again."
 
It gives infinate possibilities, right? So much to do, so little time! And still, the results are mostly the things that I whipped together as the final details for the last challenge, so here goes.
 
1. Tops and toes/Black and white #1: A black veil
 
The organiser of the larp pointed out in the last minute that mourning attire for close relatives and such included a veil for the ladies. To the best of my knowledge, I wouldn't need one - but I certainly didn't trust the organisers not to send me bad news during the actual game. I admire them for it, they do keep us on our toes, but still. I needed a plan B. So I looked through the fabric stash and found a dreadful polyester organza I bought for uhm... something long ago, and got started. I made it simple: rounded the back edges and hemmed them by hand, and made the front hem broader. I then found left-over rocailles from long ago, as well as glass pearls left over from the original Tops and toes project, and voilà - a mourning veil.
 
Which didn't photograph that well, of course.
 
A close-up of the front hem. In total I estimate about 800 of the tiny black rocailles and 50 or so of the white glass pearls. I'm not that good at not overdoing the small projects, I know I know. Since I never had to use it (not yet!) I have no good photos of it worn, but with the heavy front hem and "normal veil" back combined it looks a combination of a very light basic veil and a see-through version of an early English hood. Not at all period, but I stretch the alternative universe a bit, ok?
 
The Challenge: #21, Re-do
Fabric: Polyester organza
Pattern: My own
Year: So non-HA it isn't even funny...
Notions: Black rocaille beads and glass pearls, polyester thread
How historically accurate is it?: No. Just no.
Hours to complete: About eight
First worn: Not yet
Total cost: True stash project, but about 100 sek/10 euros all included.
 
 
 
Kommentera inlägget här: